compassger.blogg.se

How do you dial number skype web app
How do you dial number skype web app










how do you dial number skype web app

I started looking for a third-party generic dialer and since the new Edge browser allows for generic Chrome plug-ins, my search could expand further than what is provided in the Microsoft Store. I did find that there is no browser extensions for Microsoft Teams for Click to Call and this has already been flagged and added as a feature request on the Microsoft Teams User Feedback Forum.īut luckily I didn’t give up. I must say that I haven’t been this excited about a new browser since the ’90s. I then tuned my attention on the new Edge Chromium browser currently in preview. It doesn’t seem that the browser helper object uses any of the underlying OS default protocol apps so we are out of luck with click to call in IE.

how do you dial number skype web app

This helper object does not work with Microsoft Teams even though it will go thru the redirect screen and open the client (when being in Teams Only mode), but it will not facilitate the call.

how do you dial number skype web app how do you dial number skype web app

In the old days on Internet Explorer we had a browser helper object for Lync and Skype for Business that would recognize phone numbers and provide a Click to Call hyperlink in the browser. Clicking on a phone number hyperlink now opens Microsoft Teams and the client will start dialing after a last confirmation in the client. Now back to Outlook Online and do a little more testing. Scroll down on the “Choose default app by protocol” page until you identify the TEL (URL:Tel Protocol) and switch it from Skype for Business to Microsoft Teams. Here you click on “Default apps”, scroll down on the page and click on “Choose default app by protocol”. Open “Windows Settings” then click on “Apps” which will open the “Apps & features” window. All we need to do is change the Default App associated with the TEL protocol. Well since I am running in Teams Only mode, this would not be the right application for the job, but luckily I found this to be an easy fix. When I clicked on a phone number hyperlink the browser wanted to open Skype for Business. I then turned to Outlook Online using the brand new Edge Chromium browser (the same will apply for Chrome), but something wasn’t quite right. Everything here works just as expected when using the call feature. I started to wonder how well this feature is actually supported with Microsoft Teams and decided to run thru some standard workflows we are used to on Skype for Business.įirst I turned my attention to Outlook and I must be honest, I hardly ever use the contacts section of Outlook. Since Remote Call Control (RCC) and Call via Work (CvW) features have not been implemented on Microsoft Teams and presumably never will be, I have had numerous conversations with organizations around how to do click to call going forward.












How do you dial number skype web app